top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecrlnaprilia

01 // B L O O M #AlbumArtReimagined

The moment I heard the first bar of Troye Sivan's Bloom, I was already captivated. The distinct opening beat got me; topped off with Troye's smooth vocals, absolute eargasm.


#AlbumArtReimagined is a new series that I'm working on, where I redesign and recreate album/song artworks. This series is by no means saying that this album cover should've been done this way or that way. It is my form of creative reinterpretation based on the song's conceptual message and themes and more of how I had it visualized in my head.


Bloom became my first artwork for this series since I was so hooked on this song when I was planning out the series. Also, both the lyrical and visual music videos were equally amazing with their own set of aesthetics, but I couldn't stop spazzing over nearly everything in the visual music video. Everything was so on point, the makeup, the outfit, the flowers especially. I loved how the makeup added a pop of color to the overall vintage, washed-out color scheme, thus why I made it the center of attention in the recreated artwork. However, my other main focus was the flowers and the importance of it as a symbolic element in the overall theme. I framed Troye's face with flowers, leaving only the section where he had makeup on to add that pop of color like I mentioned before. The flowers were originally brighter, but I had to tone down the saturation so as to not confuse the emphasis on the whole picture.


The second version of the artwork is without Troye Sivan. This version plays with more of negative space whilst still using blooming flowers. In this, the flowers were not toned down in terms of saturation since it would need to pop out more strongly from the white background.




The results ended up straying pretty far from the initial sketch since the initial idea did not seem to fit the theme and aesthetics very well. The initial idea being flowers blooming out of the mouth with the title 'Bloom' splayed over the center of the image. I figured that I could not use a shot of female lips for the artwork since one of the key themes in the music video was Troye's androgynous and more feminine looks.


I'm hoping I could stay diligent through the whole series and stick to the set posting schedule 😂



More on Instagram: @crln.jpeg

8 views0 comments
bottom of page